Nunavut Blog2


Nunavut is the newest, largest, and most northerly territory of Canada.  It was separated officially from the Northwest Territories on April 1, 1999.

Nunavut comprises a major portion of Northern Canada, and most of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago.  Its vast territory makes it the fifth-largest country subdivision in the world, as well as North America’s second-largest (after Greenland). The capital is Iqaluit (formerly “Frobisher Bay”), which is on Baffin Island in the east.

Nunavut is the second-least populous of Canada’s provinces and territories, spread over a land area of just over 1,877,787 km2 .

Related Books

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply