SKU: 9780064410304.

Porcupine Year (Birchbark House #3)


Here follows the story of a most extraordinary year in the life of an Ojibwe family and of a girl named “Omakayas,” or Little Frog, who lived a year of flight and adventure, pain and joy, in 1852.

  • ISBN: 9780064410304
  • Author: Louise Erdrich
  • 193 pages
  • Ages: 8-12

When Omakayas is twelve winters old, she and her family set off on a harrowing journey. They travel by canoe westward from the shores of Lake Superior along the rivers of northern Minnesota, in search of a new home. While the family has prepared well, unexpected danger, enemies, and hardships will push them to the brink of survival. Omakayas continues to learn from the land and the spirits around her, and she discovers that no matter where she is, or how she is living, she has the one thing she needs to carry her through.

Richly imagined, full of laughter and sorrow, The Porcupine Year  continues Louise Erdrich's celebrated series, which began with The Birchbark House, a National Book Award finalist, and continued with The Game of Silence, winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction.

Weight 0.146 kg
Dimensions 19 × 12.8 × 1.2 cm
Book Author



There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

Birchbark Bundle
Add to cart
The Birchbark House
Add to cart
The Game of Silence
Add to cart
The Porcupine Year
Add to cart
Add to cart
Add to cart